My Identity in Christ

Totally awesome post from a great friend of mine. We all (and especially me) need to remember that we don’t have to perform or pretend to get Jesus to say “I love you.” He lavishes love on us freely.

kdempseyoc

I’ve been learning so much over the past few weeks, but one of the most important things is that I have a secure identity in Christ, and that my need for significance, worth and approval is found in Him alone.

During the latter part of high school and during my freshman year of college, I thought that I could earn God’s approval through my own efforts. I always thought that if I just tried harder, God would like me more and reward me accordingly. High achievement and personal success became my idol, whether it was in academics, sports, or pleasing people. I have always had an inner desire to excel, but this turned into crushing perfectionism as I sought to “make God happy” and be the best of the best.

I did achieve a lot of success, but none of it was truly fulfilling. And I thought that once…

View original post 818 more words

Comment Here!

