Erin unplugged. Part 2 of 8.

Hello, again.

Welcome to part 2 of my musical blog project. Hope you’re having fun. If you didn’t read my last post explaining what I’m about to do here, click this link. Cool. I’ll get started.

SONGS THAT REMIND ME OF HOME

What’s Up? (4 Non Blondes, Bigger, Better, Faster, More!, 1992) Sang this at the top of my lungs in my car seat as a three-year-old. Also had a good time with this one backstage in high school. Not ashamed that it’s basically screaming. Or that I only know the chorus. It’s whatever. And I said/HEEEEY-EE-YAAAY-eeyaaayaay

P.S. HER FACE.

SOULFUL SONGS

Barton Hollow (The Civil Wars, Barton Hollow, 2011) This song is grassroots-country-folk-spiritual-blues. It rocks. It’s foot-stomping, gut-singing, raw and visceral. The harmonies are killer. I love The Civil Wars so, so much. Miles and miles in my bare feet/Still can’t lay me down to sleep/If I die before I wake/I know the Lord, my soul won’t take/Ooh, ooh

SONGS FOR THE ROAD

Wonderwall (Ryan Adams, Love is Hell Part 1, 2003) My dad and I were driving through the rolling hills of Iowa in the middle of the night on the way back from Colorado. My sisters were asleep in the back, and it was storming–huge, enormous thunderclaps and lightning that lit up the clouds. It was terrifying and beautiful. This song was playing as we watched the spectacular thunderstorm in total silence. It was haunting, and I’ll never forget it. And maybe/You’re gonna be the one that saves me/’Cause after all/You’re my wonderwall

SONGS THAT GIVE ME BUTTERFLIES

The Way You Look Tonight (Frank Sinatra, Days of Wine and Roses, 1964) Although of course I am obviously a huge proponent of men complimenting women on more than just their looks alone (duh), there is something to be said for telling a girl when you think she looks beautiful (I know I appreciate it). And Frank Sinatra never gets old. I could listen to him sing forever. Classic. Yes, you’re lovely/with your smile so warm/And your cheeks so soft/There is nothing for me but to love you/And the way you look tonight

Sorry, you have to go direct to the YouTube video to watch this one. It’s worth it, I promise.

SONGS FROM HIGH SCHOOL

Spanish Rose (Chita Rivera, Bye Bye Birdie, 1960) My junior year, I sang this song in our high school’s production of Bye Bye Birdie. It was my first leading role on stage. I did a dance to it and I got to pretend to be Spanish. Once during a big dress rehearsal my skirt kind of fell off.  It was only mildly traumatizing. Americano, let me give you a bit of advice/To cross Spanish Rose isn’t wise/Your match you have found/So don’t mess around/Her heart, she is cold like ice!

And…because I, too, love a good laugh…

Here’s me performing it.

SONGS THAT MAKE ME SMILE

The Most Beautiful Girl in the Room (Flight of the Conchords, Live, 2007) I can’t get through this song without cracking up. Seriously. They are so funny. I would try to find a lyric video for this one so you could watch it right here on the blog, but you can’t not watch the official music video because it’s too hilarious. You need to watch their other videos, too. And when I saw you at my mate’s place/I thought what…is…she…doing…/At my mate’s place/How did Dave get a hottie like that to a party like this?/Good one, Dave/Oh, you’re a legend, Dave

SONGS THAT MAKE MY HEART ACHE

Fix You (Coldplay, X + Y, 2005) This one was and always will be dedicated to Todd, the man who might as well have been my big brother, 1963-2012. I miss you every day. I love you. Lights will guide you home/And ignite your bones/And I will try to fix you/Tears stream down your face/When you lose something you cannot replace/Tears stream down your face/And I

SONGS THAT MAKE ME WORSHIP

You Won’t Relent (Misty Edwards, Relentless, 2007) This duet has a sense of desperation that I don’t hear in a ton of Christian music. I don’t know if that makes sense. There’s passion there–God’s passionate, jealous, and unrelenting love for us. He desires our hearts, and every part of them. It’s awesome. I’ll set you as a seal upon my heart/As a seal upon my arm/For there is love that is as strong as death/Jealousy demanding as the grave/And many waters cannot quench this love

 

Hope you enjoyed these. As always, I appreciate feedback/comments :)

Love,

Erin Elizabeth XOXO

 

6 thoughts on “Erin unplugged. Part 2 of 8.”

Comment Here!

