Erin unplugged. Part 4 of 8.

Hi again, friends :)

If you haven’t read the previous three posts, you should. Here’s the links: first one, second one, third one. Okay, here we go!

SONGS THAT REMIND ME OF HOME

You Were Meant For Me (Jewel, Pieces of You, 1995) One of my favorites ever since I was old enough to sing. I still love this song. The LP version is way better than the radio version. Maybe someone can teach me how to play it on the guitar one day… Dreams last for so long/even after you’re gone/I know that you love me/and soon you will see/you were meant for me/and I was meant for you

SOULFUL SONGS

Fever (Peggy Lee, Things Are Swingin’, 1959) This song is incredible and understated and jazzy and hot. That bass and the finger-snapping, Peggy Lee’s light voice on top of it. Dang. Never know how much I love you/Never know how much I care/When you put your arms around me/I get a fever that’s so hard to bear/You give me fever, when you kiss me/Fever when you hold me tight/Fever in the morning baby, fever all through the night

SONGS FOR THE ROAD

Baba O’Riley (The Who, Who’s Next, 1971) My dad and I were driving through rural Indiana farmland on the way to my college musical theatre audition my senior year. This song came on the radio and it was kind of a perfect moment. Out here in the fields/I farm for my meals/I get my/back into my living/I don’t need to fight/To prove I’m right/I don’t need to be forgiven

SONGS THAT GIVE ME BUTTERFLIES

Turning Page (Sleeping at Last, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1, 2011) For the record, I never saw this movie and I hate Twilight. But I have to admit the movie soundtracks are actually really good. The lyrics to this one are really poetic and gorgeous. And I love his voice. Though we’re tethered to the story we must tell/When I saw you, well, I knew we’d tell it well/With a whisper, we will tame the vicious seas/Like a feather bringing kingdoms to their knees

SONGS FROM HIGH SCHOOL

Ocean Avenue (Yellowcard, Ocean Avenue, 2003) I rediscovered how great this song was in high school. I love Yellowcard’s use of rock violin. Also, it’s about a guy who wants to get his high-school sweetheart back, so that’s cute. There’s a place off of Ocean Avenue/Where I used to sit and talk with you/We were both sixteen and it felt so right/Sleeping all day staying up all night

SONGS THAT MAKE ME SMILE

Dance Anthem of the 80’s (Regina Spektor, Far, 2009) I was in the front row at her concert and Regina sang this song INTO MY EYES. It was already one of my favorites by her, but that pretty much sealed the deal that this song would be on the list. You are so sweet, so sweet/dancin’ and movin’ to that beat, that beat/There’s a meat market down the street/The boys and the girls watch each other eat/The boys and the girls watch each other eat/When they really just wanna watch each other/Sleep

SONGS THAT MAKE MY HEART ACHE

Poison & Wine (The Civil Wars, Barton Hollow, 2011) The heartbreaking irrationality of love. The music video has so much romantic tension–it’s nearly unbearable. I wish you’d hold me when I turn my back/The less I give, the more I get back/Oh your hands can heal, your hands can bruise/I don’t have a choice but I still choose you/Oh I don’t love you but I always will

SONGS THAT MAKE ME WORSHIP

You Revive Me (Passion feat. Christy Nockels, Passion: White Flag, 2012) I first heard this song at Cru Christmas conference in 2012. I was dealing with a lot of stuff from my past and when this came on, I just burst into tears. I was a mess. But I just sensed that God was there, with me, in that moment. He spoke to me. I’ll never forget it. I’m alive/I’m alive/You breathe on me/You revive me/You revive me/You revive me, Lord/And all my deserts are rivers of joy

 

Hope you enjoyed the songs! Thanks for reading.

Love,

Erin Elizabeth xoxo

 

4 thoughts on “Erin unplugged. Part 4 of 8.”

Comment Here!

