Erin unplugged. Part 5 of 8.

Hello.

Sooooo, in case you haven’t heard, Monday night I had a bit of a hard time with the YouTube videos on the previous posts–realized that most of them could not be played on WordPress and had to be replaced. Spent a few hours finding new videos (if I could) and re-linking everything so that you don’t have to open up a new tab for each video. Hopefully there won’t be more issues with this from here on out, but I’ll definitely be checking up on that. I’m really sorry about that, friends.

In other, happier news, one of my readers made the fantastic suggestion to create a Spotify playlist that updates with every new post! So, if you guys follow me on Spotify, you can subscribe to my playlist, “Erin Unplugged,” and listen to the original versions of all the songs there.

Anyway, here are the links to my previous posts (one, two, three, four) and enjoy part five of my musical blog series!!

SONGS THAT REMIND ME OF HOME

Hound Dog (Elvis Presley, Hound Dog, 1956) As a toddler,  my mom would play this song off of the Forrest Gump soundtrack (it’s one of her favorite movies) and I would dance around to it in a pink tutu in my living room and pretend I was actually doing ballet. I was a cool kid. You ain’t nothin’ but a hound dog/cryin’ all the time/You ain’t nothin’ but a hound dog/cryin’ all the time/well, you ain’t never caught a rabbit/and you ain’t no friend of mine

SOULFUL SONGS

Travelin’ Soldier (Dixie Chicks, Home, 2002) This song made me cry the first time I heard it. I think it became even more important to me a few years ago after I spent a week at the Freedom Academy, a military-run camp in northern Michigan, where I met a ton of veterans, people on active duty, and war heroes. Two days past eighteen/He was waitin’ for the bus in his army greens/Sat down in a booth in the café there/Gave his order to a girl with a bow in her hair

SONGS FOR THE ROAD

Ramble On (Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin II, 1969) My dad and I always used to listen to Led Zeppelin, and this song sticks with me especially because it’s pretty heavily influenced by The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Plus it’s just a great traveling song. Mine’s a tale that can’t be told/my freedom I hold dear/How years ago in days of old/when magic filled the air/’twas in the darkest depths of Mordor, mm/I met a girl so fair/but Gollum and the evil one crept up/and slipped away with her/her, her, yeah, and ain’t nothin’ I can do, no/I guess I’ll keep on ramblin’

SONGS THAT GIVE ME BUTTERFLIES

Just the Way You Are (Bruno Mars, Doo-Wops & Hooligans, 2010) Okay, I know this isn’t the most brilliant song ever written. To tell you the truth, I cringed when I realized I was admitting to liking it. But I do–actually, I love it. And Bruno Mars is a fantastic performer. And it makes me happy to know that guys can still write really popular pop songs and not have them be really explicit or vulgar. And what girl doesn’t want to be told by a guy that he loves her for exactly who she is? And when you smile/The whole world stops and stares for awhile/Cause girl you’re amazing/Just the way you are

SONGS FROM HIGH SCHOOL

Gimme Gimme (Sutton Foster, Thoroughly Modern Millie, 2002) This is quintessential Broadway sound, big and brassy Sutton Foster–all the way from my musical theatre days. Millie was my senior year musical, and this is my favorite song from the show. I basically idolized her in high school–we even had the same haircut (yeesh). Gimme gimme/that thing called love/I crave it/Gimme gimme/that thing called love/I’ll brave it/Highs and lows, tears and laughter/Gimme happy ever after/Gimme gimme that thing called love

SONGS THAT MAKE ME SMILE

Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It) (Beyoncé, I Am…Sasha Fierce, 2009) Tried to learn the dance. Failed miserably. I’ll never give up, because I secretly hope that one day if I try hard enough I will actually physically become Beyoncé. It’s good to have big dreams. ‘Cause if you liked it, then you should have put a ring on it/If you liked it, then you shoulda put a ring on it/Don’t be mad once you see that he want it/’Cause if you liked it, then you shoulda put a ring on it/Oh oh oh

SONGS THAT MAKE MY HEART ACHE

Existentialism on Prom Night (Straylight Run, Straylight Run, 2004) In high school, I accidentally overheard a boy playing this song on the piano in an otherwise empty room. I remember listening at the door and my breath being caught in my chest because the opening piano melody is so moving.  The lyrics to this song just get me every time. Agghhhhh. Sing me something soft/sad and delicate/or loud and out of key/sing me anything/We’re glad for what we’ve got/done with what we’ve lost/our whole lives laid out/right in front of us

SONGS THAT MAKE ME WORSHIP

Let There Be (Live) (Gungor, A Creation Liturgy (Live), 2012) This is more quintessential Gungor. It just sounds like…creation. The lyrics are stunning, and the part where everything drops out except the rumbling drum before the big crashing glorious climax of the song? Gives me chills. Angels toil and crack open scrolls of ancient dreams/Countless worlds of His/Brilliant stars and breath and stream/Let there be/light

 

Thanks for listening!!

Love,

Erin Elizabeth xoxo

 

 

3 thoughts on “Erin unplugged. Part 5 of 8.”

Comment Here!

