Erin unplugged. Part 8 of 8.

Wow.

I can’t believe this musical blog series is over. It has definitely been an exercise in vulnerability, and patience–I had to take a weekend off of social media to spend some time focusing on God, and it was super awesome, but I’m glad to finally finish this off. Thanks to everyone who stuck with me and read it all the way through. You guys are the best. And if you’re just reading this blog for the first time and wondering what the heck is about to go down…well, you’re great, too. And here are the links to the previous seven posts (one, two, three, four, five, six, seven).

SONGS THAT REMIND ME OF HOME

Down in the River to Pray (Alison Krauss, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, 2000) This is the song I sing under my breath whenever I’m washing dishes in the kitchen. It’s pretty and simple and calms me down.  Oh sisters, let’s go down/let’s go down, and come on ’round/Oh sisters, let’s go down/down in the river to pray

SOULFUL SONGS

Bottom of the River (Delta Rae, Carry the Fire, 2012) This song has the same soulful-country-folk musical style as Barton Hollow, but it also has an awesome a cappella section and heavy chain usage. The lyrical content is quite dark, but it’s excellent. Check the cupboard for your daddy’s gun/Red sun rises like an early warning/The Lord’s gonna come for your first-born son/His hair’s on fire and his heart is burning/Go to the river where the water runs/Wash him deep where the tides are turning

SONGS FOR THE ROAD

Drops of Jupiter (Train, Drops of Jupiter, 2001) I remember singing this song with my parents in the car at the top of our lungs, my dad banging on the steering wheel. This one was also a favorite of my bible study freshman year. Jolene would play it on the piano and we’d sing along. She acts like summer and walks like rain/Reminds me that there’s a time to change, hey, hey/Since the return from her stay on the moon/She listens like spring and she talks like June, hey, hey, hey, hey

SONGS THAT GIVE ME BUTTERFLIES

Falling Slowly (Glen Hansard, Once: Motion Picture Soundtrack, 2007) The duet is so great because you get this sense that it’s not just one person falling for the other–it’s both at the same time. Nor is it some super-fast, overly-intense relationship. It’s awkward and kind of slow in the beginning. And that makes it real. I don’t know you, but I want you/All the more for that/Words fall through me and always fool me/And I can’t react/And games that never amount/To more than they’re meant/Will play themselves out

SONGS FROM HIGH SCHOOL

The Circle Game (Joni Mitchell, Ladies of the Canyon, 1970) My high school choir teacher, Mrs. Pryce, was without a doubt the most influential teacher I have ever had. She loves the Lord. She loves music. And she loves her students. Every year at the end of the year, she would take us outside and play her guitar and make us sing this song together. And the seasons, they go round and round/And the painted ponies go up and down/We’re captive on a carousel of time/We can’t return, we can only look (clap clap!)/behind from where we came/and go round and round and round/in the circle game

SONGS THAT MAKE ME SMILE

Vindicated (Dashboard Confessional, Dusk and Summer, 2004) Every time I hear this I just think of our Cru women’s bible study discovering our love for Dashboard Confessional and simultaneously bursting into a rousing chorus of this song. Makes me smile. VINDICATED!!/I am selfish, I am wrong/I am right, I swear I’m right/Swear I knew it all along/And I am flawed/But I am cleaning up so well/I am seeing in me now/The things you swore you saw yourself

SONGS THAT MAKE MY HEART ACHE

The Blower’s Daughter (Damien Rice, O, 2002) I know I said I wasn’t playing favorites with songs here, but as I was organizing what songs would be on what post, I realized I was lying because I kept putting this song further back in the lineup so I wouldn’t give it away too soon. Sometimes your heart recognizes songs before your ears do. It’s raw, unrequited love. And so it is/just like you said it should be/we both forget the breeze/most of the time/And so it is/The colder water/The blower’s daughter/The pupil in denial/I can’t take my eyes off of you

SONGS THAT MAKE ME WORSHIP

I’ll set You as a seal upon my heart, as a seal upon my arm
For there is love that is as strong as death
Jealousy, demanding as the grave
Many waters cannot quench this love
Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/misty-edwards/you-won-t-relent-lyrics/#pm0IXR2QEP0h1ThA.99
I’ll set You as a seal upon my heart, as a seal upon my arm
For there is love that is as strong as death
Jealousy, demanding as the grave
Many waters cannot quench this love
Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/misty-edwards/you-won-t-relent-lyrics/#pm0IXR2QEP0h1ThA.99

Spirit of the Living God (Phil Wickham, Singalong 2, 2012) This song is just unadulterated worship. Phil Wickham is an incredible performer–I’ve seen him perform up close and personal couple times now–and he just plays his guitar and sings with his gorgeous voice and the Spirit just comes upon him! Such a privilege to listen. Praying for his vocal cords to heal. Spirit of the living God/Fall afresh on me/Melt me/Mold me/Fill me/Use me

Again, thanks for reading. Check out my Spotify playlist and stay *tuned* for another blog post after I finish writing this dang novella (puns!!).

Love,

Erin Elizabeth xoxo

 

Comment Here!

