On repeat (ep. 2).

 

Hey, Wanderers!

…So this second episode of On Repeat is a little late because I’ve been back on campus for the past couple weeks, and I think I forgot that there’s this thing called homework that college students have to do. Let me tell you, though, I’m glad I’m the one doing it, and not the one assigning it, haha. Being back in Evanston as a student has been so refreshing–spring quarter is off to a good start, I’m surrounded by my friends, and I feel like myself again. To be honest, I haven’t had a ton of time to really listen to music because I’ve been busy. But PLEASE still send me song suggestions if you have them, and I’ll give you a shout-out!! In the meantime, here are a couple songs that I’ve enjoyed a lot the past couple weeks. Hope you like them too.

–Erin

_____________________

1. “Run”– Delta Rae

I was so excited to hear that Delta Rae had a new album coming out. I discovered them a couple years ago–the best way I can describe them folk-rock Americana band, but they are a lot more than that. Where many folk artists are all about subtlety and downplayed acoustic sound, Delta Rae is all about drama and dynamics and lush instrumentation. They’re not afraid to be big, musically or emotionally (which I can appreciate, as someone with a flair for the theatrical). This song, “Run,” brings out my inner wild child. It makes me want to run and dance and jump up and down like a little kid. And that soaring soprano line reminds me of something Regina Spektor might sing (a.k.a. I love it).

2. “Blackbird”–The Beatles

On Good Friday, I went out in the morning to sit out at the Lakefill and pray and write in my journal. I was listening to this song–hopeful, sad, haunting, a guitar melody I could listen to for days. There was a cold wind and Lake Michigan was gunmetal gray. As I was sitting with my back against a tree, listening, looking out, a robin landed in front of me and started hopping toward me, stopping and starting. He stopped about two feet away from me and for a few seconds, before he flew away, we just looked at each other, still and intent. I swear I stopped breathing. And it was almost like he knew something, understood. Somehow, the whole thing felt a little bit holy.

3. “Last Word” –Elevation Worship

This song is such a fantastic, simple worship song. I got to sing it on Good Friday at my church this year, which was a lot of fun. The lyrics are what do it for me. To me, the refrain, “It is finished,” is deceptively simple. On one end, Christ has achieved victory for us–we’re forgiven and justified by His work on the cross 2,000 years ago–but He also hasn’t come back and defeated Satan once and for all yet, so our stories aren’t finished. But we know the ending–that Christ wins!…It’s a weird tension that I really enjoy.

Comment Here!

